2017 Photobook of the Year Awards book exhibition


2017 Australia and New Zealand Photobook of the Year Awards exhibition

Snowwhite Gallery, Unitec, 139 Carrington Rd

1-6 May 2018

View the NZ and Australian finalist books and vote for the People’s Choice Award throughout the week, then hear from the 2017 winner and four finalists on the weekend.

The exhibition opens Tue 1 May from 5.30pm - 7.00pm then daily from 10.00am - 4.00pm until 6 May.

A floor talk will be hosted on Sat 5 May from 1.30pm - 3.00pm with presentations from NZ 2017 winner Allan McDonald, and finalists Chris Leskovsek, Yvonne Shaw, Tim Mackrell, Michael Lamb and Harvey Benge.

+  Carbon Empire by Allan McDonald; Rim Books –  W I N N E R
+  I Will Be My Dream by Constance McDonald –   C O M M E N D E D
+  Mimetic by Mark Purdom; Ramp Press –   C O M M E N D E D
+  Nothing Ever Happens by Robyn Daly –   C O M M E N D E D
+  At Rest. A Road Trip To Anthropocene. by Howard Greive
+  Complements by Michael Mahne Lamb
+  Hand-Coloured New Zealand: The photographs of Whites Aviation Photographs by Peter       Alsop; Potton & Burton
+  How are things. How things are. by Jamie Bowering
+  Missing Wife by Dana Chisholm
+  Retrograde Motion by Yvonne Shaw & Tim Mackrell; The Essence Archive
+  The Lament by Harvey Benge; Dewi Lewis Publishing UK
+  Valpo by Chris Leskovsek

View NZ finalist publications here


+  Variations for Troubled Hands by Steve Carr + Perimeter Editions - W I N N E R
+  Areoglyphic - Volume 1 by Chloe Ferres - C O M M E N D E D  
+  The Pines by James Bugg - C O M M E N D E D     
+  Tokyo is Yours by Meg Hewitt - C O M M E N D E D
+  Desperado by Hannah Nikkelson   
+  Family Photos by Eliza Hutchison + Perimeter Editions
+  Form Supplement by Traianos Pakioufakis + Éditions
+  Fucked Up Fotos by Stephen Dupont   
+  On the Sea Stands a Rock by Sam Forsyth-Gray  
+  Pabva Zizi Pagara Gondo - Where the Owl Left the Eagle Comes to Sit by Cameron James Cope

View Australian finalist publications here

The Australian and New Zealand Photobook of the Year Awards are sponsored by MomentoPro